People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What determines the behavior of people? The statement above asserts that people's behavior is mostly determined by external forces rather than internal mind. However, the author largely neglects the power of self-determination and magnificent consequent accomplishments made by self-deciding people in history.

Current education systems emphasize to nurture independent human-beings. Since technology and social system grows in unprecedented ways, it became crucial to accomplish independent and self-deciding person as a component in a society. To live well off in a society, we are trained to figure out interests in our own and chase to develop the ability in order to pursue as a career. At post-secondary schools, students select curriculum based on their interests and future jobs, all by themselves. Then people choose their career path based on their aptitude and willingness to devote in that occupation.

Admittedly, from primary and secondary schools, we also taught to behave kindly and stick to social and legal rules. Based on "Social Contract" theory by John Locke, instilling social rules and justice to young students is considered to be crucial in terms of educating well-rounded citizens. When people commit crimes or misbehave to hurt other people, it is recognized that this would result in serious punishment such as put in jail or pay huge amount of compensation. Therefore, by limiting people's self-indulgence with strict social rules, the rest of people can stay healthy and safe from potential threats.

Yet the effect of limiting violent behaviors based on external social contract cannot fully illustrate other kinds of behavior that people conduct and achieve in their rest of lives. Creativity, for instance, is purely triggered by each individual. It is well-known that innate creativity is hard to be implanted by external education but only empowered or diminished from proper education. Many creative people in current time, such as technology and economic magnates, became the CEO or inventer of corporation and products for endless pursuit of interests and dreams in their own. A society cannot force a child to become creative and work hard in order to become an entrepreneur. Rather, individual's life decision is consummated by their own self-determination.

In conclusion, the statement suggests a limited explanation in delivering what makes people to behave in terms of outer forces. However, external enforcement only act as limiting factor in behavior to become a responsible social citizen. Rather, personal empowerment and excessive pursuit affect most of people's determination as a whole.