People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is it solely the external forces that determines one's actions, or demeanor? Or, it is internal forces that largely shapes one's behavior? While few critics - including the author of the claim - might argue that people's behavior is solely determined by external forces - or forces not of own making, yet Homo sapiens (human) being the most intelligent animal of the existence, critics analysis sounds cursory. Therefore, my cut-and-dried view is that of course external environment influence our behavior; however, it is highly unjustifiable to say that it is the sole force to determine human's behavior. But rather, both internal and external forces of human continuously interact with each-other and shapes their attitude.

Firstly, and probably most importantly, it is obvious that external forces influence us; external forces includes external environment, society, its culture and tradition, other people's opinion and many more. To some extent, they shape our behavior as well: for example, a child grown up on abusive family environment becomes pessimistic and rude; then again, a child grown up under a better supervision of educated parents become more civil and courteous. This is an environmental influence, but having said that, we should not overlook the influence of own internal forces on our behavior, which is more profound. Its raining, for instance, and we are very near to a shelter, then we can walk without going to shelter as well. One can do so because he might have wanted to enjoy the rain. In crux, the external environment forced him to go to shelter; he, however, decided based on his own will. Hence, both factors have influence on us and their interaction shapes our bearing.

Finally, as aforementioned, few critics might argue that it is solely the forces which are out of our hand, that is external forces, which shapes our behavior; several real life experiences challenge this claim's validity, however. During the mega-earthquake, magnitude 7.8 Richter scale, of 2015 in Nepal, everyone of my society hurriedly came out of their home, but nevertheless, I stayed inside my own home. The reason they decided to came out so hurriedly was that their house was not earthquake resistant, but again, I decided to stay inside my home, because I was living in a resistant building. Both, the society and I, acted according to the decision of our own international forces. Along with the natural disaster, that is external fury, international force simultaneously acted and we acted accordingly.

To recapitulate, above mentioned examples and arguments make it crystal clear that it is highly unjustifiable to say that only external forces influence our behavior somuch as both the forces interact perpetually and shape our behavior. The example of children grown up in different environments, rainy situation and the situation during mega-earthquake corroborates my position.