People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is widely believed that human beings have free will. However, some people argue that people’s behavior is largely determined by the forces not of their own making. I disagree with this statement in that people have great liberty in choosing one’s behavior.

Granted, people’s behaviors can be influenced by authority. Lots of people think they will never choose to harm other innocent people. In order to study the impact of authority in one’s behavior, Milgram designed an experiment in which the authoritative figure orders participants to give electronical shocks to their partners. Even though their partners screamed and begged to stop the pain, participants kept pressing the button when the authoritative figure in the white gown asked them to proceed. Therefore, people’s behavior can be determined by the orders of an authority.

Also, people’s behavior can be decided by the views of the majority. Asch conducted the experiment which revealed the people’s tendency toward the conformity of behaviors. The questions which were simple and easy perceptual tasks were asked to college students. The group of students needed to choose two lines with same length. However, there were actors who chose the wrong line intentionally. The results of Asch conformity experiments show that most college students gave at least one incorrect answers when majority of other respondents gave the wrong answers. As we can see from this experiment, people’s behavior can be influenced by the opinions of the majority.

Nevertheless, people are capable of choosing one’s behavior in spite of the pressure from authority and majority. Rosa Parks decided not to obey bus driver’s order. In the 1950’s it was widely believed that the white people have priority on the bus. When the white section is filled, the black people had to give up their bus seats. Not only majority people believed in racial segregation, but also there was the law for this bus segregation. Still Rosa Parks chose not to give up her seats and as a result she was arrested. She could choose her own action because she had will and passion toward remedying injustices. Therefore people can decide their own behaviors when they have high aims in their lives.

In conclusion, human beings are capable of exercising one’s free will and determine their own behaviors. It is true that people are susceptible to the influence of authority and majority but we can still overcome those power of leverage and behave for our own goals and beliefs.