People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All people face difficult situations to move forward in life.It is the decisions we take at these time that shows our character and determines our fate.

A strong hearted and mindful person gets prepared for these roadblocks of life and are always ready to take the right decision inspite of powerful external forces,

wehereas on the other hand,the light minded person succumb to these situation and are not able to steer the life to the direction which they want.

There could be various situations of hardships like a student's burden of finance for highers studies,an activist's fight against injustice and others.

But if people have a belief and they see the bigger picture they will know that they will overcome these problems by dedicating themselves to the hardship of studying and fighting for the right

cause. However there could be some more difficult situations like poor kids wanting to study in schools, in which case they can only try to move in the correct direction by starting reading books and

waiting for the right opportunity to arrive.

We can look into history,people have become great by rising to the occasion,though toil of hard work and iron will.

The example of Mahatma Gandhi,who latter was called as the father of the nation of India, through his iron grit,never bowed down to the rulers.

And through his constant struggle of decades,was able to get freedom for India.

Martin Luther King,is also and example who rise above the worse of situations when apartheid was prevalent.

He stood against that and also let Black people believe they should be treated equally.

By his years of hardships,he was able to help the Black people breaking the shackles.

In the end,You can become a slave of the external forces or can show valor and rise above them.

To quote famous poet Ron Keats

"Too roads diverge into wood,and I have taken the one, and that had made all the difference".

Its up to us to decide our fate and difficulties are just opportunities for us to rise.