People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human beings have a complex mind and they tend to have a sporadic behaviour. The author’s claim that people’s decision or behaviour is generally determined by the external pressure seems plausible. There are various cases in which an individual has taken an extreme steps due to the peer pressure or in influence of someone.

We live in a society, where everyone has a tendency to judge us for our actions. We think twice before making any decision and we ourself has become judgemental for judging people for their actions. Our decisions or behaviours are largely influenced by our surroundings.

To illustrate that let’s look at this example, why it is always difficult for an individual to come of the closet and accept his/her sexuality, because of the fear of judgement and not being accepted by the society. Due to this fear an individual led his whole life in belying about his sexuality. This is quite obvious that his behaviour and judgement is influenced by the external forces.

Moreover, peer pressure also plays a vital role in impacting one’s decision making. Due to peer pressure they tend to take wrong steps and end up harming them. In India, there are higher number of suicide rates among students than any other country, studies have shown that this is due to the peer pressure. In peer pressure, they are not capable of think properly and happened to take such radical steps. So we can definitely say that people's behaviour is largely determined by outside forces.

In conclusion, People's behaviour is greatly affected by their surroundings, society and community they are living. They should understand that it is highly vital to take proper decision which are not influenced by any other measures, but by their owns.