“The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.”

The challenges faced by a political leader shapes his path as a great political leader rather than his inherent skills or abilities. This is majorly true for most leaders due to various reasons which are described below. However, skills are an important factor in a leader’s life without which he/she may not be able to be what they are.

First of all, the inherent skills and abilities that a leader possesses makes him stand out from other opponents and play a vital role in the selection of a person as a leader while challenges faced by that leader shape him for his work and strengthens his/her position as a political leader. For example, there are a bunch of ministers with variety of skills which helped them to bag their position but only few stand out from that bunch because of the challenges they have faced after becoming the minister. Therefore, everyone cannot be a great leader and fails sometimes.

One of the reasons of the failure of any political leader is lack of experience in exigent times. The leader might be extremely skillful but if he/she does not know how to handle a crisis, the chances of failure increase by a major percent. Ultimately, a political leader is protector of the public he serves and if he/she fails doing so, the public loses its faith in him and it results in a massive failure.

However, inherent skills and abilities of a political leader should not be taken for granted as challenges faced by a leader do not completely outweigh the importance of possessing required skills and abilities. If the leader is not skillful, there is a great possibility that his/her governance results in chaos. In order to prevent that disorderly situation, selection of a skillful leader is important.

Thus, as much as skills account for a leader’s ability to perform well, the challenges faced by the leader and how he/she manages to maintain the order during the challenging time is what makes the leader a great leader.