A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

A criminal who has intentionally committed a crime should be barred from all the civil rights. As convincing as this statement sounds, refraining the criminal from usage of all his rights is a bit extreme. Although, in my opinion it should be dependent on the severity and circumstances of the crime he has committed instead of taking extreme actions for all sorts of crime.

Taking the case of Ajmal Kasab, who was one of the terrorists behind the 26/11 Mumbai attacks in India. He and his accomplices took so many innocent lives without even considering once who are they killing. Such a criminal is not worthy of any civil rights. In fact, when he was to be presented in the court, none of the defence lawyers wanted to represent his case. To get a lawyer was his right but nobody wanted to give him this right. So, in case of such a heinous crime the civil rights which a criminal possess should be barred from him.

As in the first case, the accused of Nithari case, a pedophile who sexually tortured children and then murdered them should not be given any civil right either. This person, Moninder Sharma killed thousands of children leaving their parents to suffer in their agony does not deserve to get any kind of social justice. If these criminals are allowed to use their rights other criminals will get encouraged and it is required ti instill fear in criminals so that crimes can be stopped.

Having said this, there are crimes where a criminal is bound to commit a crime. For example, if a girl is getting assaulted sexually and she gets a chance to hurt the person and defend herself then she has no other option other than hurting him and thus committing this crime. In case of self defense, it becomes mandatory for a person to commit crimes on their will but will it be justifiable if they will not be able to retain any of their civil rights.

Any person who is committing a crime knowingly is guilty of the crime they have committed but refraining all the criminals from the usage of their rights is not justified. The conditions and severity of the crimes should definitely be taken into consideration while making such impactful decisions.