A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the rights to benefit from his or her own labor

Crime refers to a deviation from the norms or standards set by societies. These norms are what keep societies in cohesion in the form of a social contract. That is, there is agreement on what should be the corollary that results from errant behavior. However, when individuals knowingly commit crimes that are expected to break this social cohesion, I disagree that such individuals should be stripped of their civil rights and even extremely, depriving them of benefiting from their labor.

Since time immemorial, the contracts that bind societies together clearly do so on the collective agreement on what should be and should not. While this is expected to be the case, the reason why deterrents exist is to ensure that errants are not allowed stray from course. But in doing so and correcting such behavior, commensurate punishments are what engenders egalitarian societies. What is expected is a grand level of definition of what crimes could result in such egregious punishments. Should the decision to strip people of civil rights and hindering benefits from labor be hinged on the intent to commit such crimes or the enormity when they do so? These are important contentions that need to be perused before meting out punishments as stated by the claim.

Conversely, one might disagree and argue that the cohesion can only be maintained if people are well-bound to social contracts. That is, the need to commit a crime should not outweigh abiding by social contracts and that cohesion is far important. However, the lacuna in such an argument is to be fixated on the letters of the law, in contrast to, should the need arises, the spirit of the law. How do we explain meting out punishment as in the claim of the issue essay, to a driver that knowingly violates speed limits and disobeys traffic rules when he carries a patient that needs medical attention and is gasping for life? Or how it can be that when people are faced with dilemmas and making a moral decision drives them to knowingly commit a crime?

Conclusively, when people knowingly commit crimes that are at the heart of social contracts, what is expected is a whole-scale assessment of the situation rather than stripping them of what makes them a member of the society. In doing so, it is easier to uphold cohesion rather than dishing out stifler punishments that might not prove anything in the course of future and present events.