The purpose of many advertisements is to make consumers want to buy a product so that they will 'be like' the person in the ad. This practice is effective because it not only sells products but also helps people feel better about themselves.

Many people buy products because they want to be like the models of advertisements and that is how the purpose of an ad is fulfilled. So,it can be stated that this approach is effective but this does not necessarily make people feel better about themselves, a contrary view is more evident.

In today's world advertisements are an effective means of pursuing people. In these ads most of the time a model is represented with cool manners, gorgeous outfits and too many admirers around them...creating a definition of "perfect & happy life".people wants to be like them most of the times and they tend to buy the product. for instance the ads of shaving creams, a boy wants to be as handsome and admired by girls as the guy in the commercial ad and buys it...though he knows that using that cream would not necessarily make him handsome but he gets attracted to the product subconsciously. however buying a shaving cream is easy but not all the products come with a price tag that can be handled easy. Such a luxurious cars. This is when people don't feel good about themselves and get frustrated. An unfilled wish burdens him. The speaker's assertion does not hold true here.

The luxuries and king-sized lifestyle usually televised through advertisements sometimes result in social crimes. Now a days, in the third world countries and in developed countries it is a common scenario that sons and daughters are murdering their own parents and relatives because they fail to provide them money for expensive cell phones, hang outs at luxurious meeting places and speedy motor bikes. For these cases the tendency to imitate people in the advertisement make them to distinguish between just and unjust. They feel themselves incomplete without the products in their possession.

As every coin has two sides and no view in universal, there are exceptions. Watching the ads of healthy sugar alternatives and quit -smoking chewing gums people feel good about themselves and want to keep them healthy and fit. This intention make them to buy the products. The models of these ads make people desire a good and healthy life.

The statement is mostly correct. peoples' tendency to be like the person they see in the advertisements helps to sell products but not always it makes them feel good about themselves.