In a recent citywide poll, fifteen percent more residents said that they watch

television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five

years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s art

museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that

supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now

being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s art

museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting

the arts should be reallocated to public television

The argument is stating that some of the city's fund should be reallocated to public televisions programs as corporate funding that supports public television is now being threatened with severe cuts. Author assumes a correlation between increased percentage of television viewers and attendance at city's art museum to make the claim. Author assumption is based on survey data that shows similar percentage increase in the number of viewers of visual arts programs and people visiting the city's art museums. However, there are no reasons that substantiate this direct correlation between these two increased percentages. It might be the case that more people are watching program since people get motivated after visiting the museum or nowadays there are no other good programs aired on the television. Also, this trend might be because of closure of other recreational activities.

First of all, author has not provided any data to affirm that increase in visual arts program led to increase in people attendance at the museum. Just because there is proportional increase in two percentage, it cannot be concluded that there is correlation between these two increased percentage. So, author has to first find the reason for increased interest to extrapolate why more people are watching visual arts programs and visiting the museum. Without this data this claim is dubious and not persuasive.

Secondly, increased attendance at city's museum might have caused increased percentage of people watching program. Usually, after seeing some art work people get motivated to learn more about it as their interest in that particular field is increased. Because of this increased interest, there is increased percentage of people who are watching the arts programs. So, if city decides to allocate funds from arts to public television then it might impact the number of people visiting the museum as, decreased funds might lead to closing of some museums facilities, hence fewer people visiting the museum. This suggestion of allocating funds to public television will decrease people attendance at museums instead of increasing it.

Thirdly, this survey doesn't list data about each year. It might be the case that this increased percentage is just a short lived hype before the survey was conducted. This increase just before the survey might be because of airing of a program casting a famous celebrity or because of some famous Picasso painting displayed in the museum. So, author should look at granular data of this survey and also consider the current situation before correlating these two increased percentages. Just looking at five years data and coming to a rosy conclusion is unfounded.

Hence, without taking into account all the different viewpoints, this claim is not warranted. Author should first try to find correlation between these two different increase, look for more granular year wise data, and negative impact of reallocating city's fund before coming to a sound and convincing conclusion.