Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. (4)

As the means of democracy are increasingly accessible, such as internet, barely scandals could be hidden from the public. Of course the scandals can show us the weak points of our society, but we cannot recognize just scandal alone as the only and the best factor making us aware of the issues of our society.

To begin with, political scandals come in handy to reveal the weak-points and loopholes of a society. It acts like a disease, which after rehabilitation, the body of the society gets familiar with such a disease and would be more defensive toward this sort of disease in the future. Take the scandalous case of Sharam Jazayeri for instance. He surreptitiously took quite heavy loans by the political leverage of some of the Iranian parliament members, while many people were in need of the loans. After such shameful stealing from the public money, Iranian government implemented strict laws in Iran not to see such defacing attitudes from the authorities.

However, in the sexual manners these scandals can distract the masses from what is really at stake. We can see the scandal mongers in yellow magazines seeking only the private life of the celebrities to publicize their disloyalty in their relationships, using drugs and so on. Here the sexual scandals mostly distract the people from what is really going on in the world. A suspicious pregnancy of an actress can be a distraction to think about how much the millions of dollar debts of a country are not reduced a cent, and so on.

Finally, it is only at the moment that some other factors are associated with the scandals that the results will take place. Martin Luther King, Gandhi, Benjamin Franklin, each of these leaders strove to enlighten their society by their speeches. They ushered in new eras relying on the awareness of the people of their inalienable rights. The scandalous acts were taking place in the society of these leaders before they began their leadership, so why nothing happened? Because people needed to be prompted not to be insouciant regarding their society; the speeches of these leaders along the provoking scandals became useful in focusing the attention of people on the problems and begin the changes.

In short, we see that scandals are a double edge sword in focusing us in our problems; they can lead us and they can mislead us in our problems. It is the combination of the endeavors of leaders to enlighten the people and the scandals as the alarming element can efficient to make a society aware of its weak-points.