Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today’s world, Scandals have become a commonplace phenomenon. Be it a politician accused of a scandal involving bribery, or a sportsperson involved in a sex scandal, these scandals have brought to the public notice the wrongdoings of several people. So, even though the word scandal does not have a very nice ring to it, since it is always associated with something bad, it does help focus people’s attention towards a problem in ways that no speaker or reformer ever can.

Most scandals today are associated with politics, because politics is one such domain where power and money both co...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.