Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Human mind is very curious. It is lured by very unexpected ways. One of these ways is scandals. Scandals get attention better than any other means, there is no deniability that they are powerful, but it doesn't mean they are useful. They encourages other menacing traits of the society.

Encouraging scandals would result into maligned society. It will take us away from the truth. For example if an honest politician taking some serious action against a corporation which is corrupt. Now, the corporation can use scandals as a weapon against that politician. By means of ill wits they can set him up in a scandal. Now the public opinion will be against the politician and due to the building pressure the politician has to leave his incumbency. This is not a hypothetical example it is totally feasible.

The media nowadays is very powerful and will become even threatening.They can use scandals to their benefit. for example a political party own a certain news channel, they can use scandals to demolish the public image of party's competitors. Scandals can change the lives of the people involved in it and people around them. Often scandals deteriorates the public image of a person and could drive him/her to take a rash decision like suicide.

It's true that scandals have proven to beneficial to debunk many scams, but we can't deny that it is a dangerous means of attention seeking.