Scientist and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

All the scientist and the researchers who are in the research field should focus on their research. It is not important if it is for the good of the large number of people or not. It is helpful for the world that more and more researches are done. If they think that the mass population will not be able to afford it then 90% of the researches will be affected by it.

For a good matter, I don't support the statement. For example in the field of medical The reason behind this is a deadly disease "cancer" was impossible to cure a long time back. But there has been a development in the research center and now with proper precautions and medical attention it is possible to cure it. Millions of dollars were spent to find the proper treatment for cancer. However, at the time for this research, if someone in the research team had this thought of thinking for the mass people than, today a great number of people would be suffering by cancer. Scientist and researchers should do their work without thinking of the society, it is their job and they are trained to do so. It is the government who should be responsible for the benifit of the great number of people.

Another reason is that millions of dollars are spent on researches of these rare theories. There are numerous investors investing in these research. It is not confirmed that they do it for the good of the people or for their own profit. But if we think of them then they will suffer a great loss after investing a grand amount in the research and their money gets wasted on some research that is not so important at the moment or not needed at all. On the other hand, sometimes due to government pressure scientist and researchers are forced to do some reckless work for the sake of good of the people who are below the poverty line. In this case also two things are wasted, one is the precious time of the research teams who are capable of doing much more good job than some stupid research and another is the money invested in the project.

However, it is not 100% true that the research should be done only for those who can afford it neither only on the one which is deadly or important for future. Or they should not even waste time on somethings which is of no mean. Rather than sometimes it is good to think about a large number. For example in India there a some medicines available in the market which are not affordable by a common man. In India the poverty line is more than 40%, nearly half of the population of India. In a way if we think these high ranged medicines are useless to them. So a research should be made to make these medicines even cheap so that a good number of people can afford it. It is just example of one field but it is possible in various fields.

In a way sometimes it is good to think about the greater population but sometimes it is not worth it. Scientist and researchers are no there to think about anyone, they only have to think about is that it is beneficial or not. If there is a problem of thinking for a grand amount of people such that whether they will like the product or not or is it cost efficient or not, than there are other people who have a job to to think about these issues.