Scientist and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The idea of the statement suggests that outcomes are predicted even before their complete research and what will be benefit for the people should be focused by the researchers. But this is not true in every case. I yet found somewhat convincing in the statement due to certain points given below.

Firstly, The aim of the researchers and scientists has to be somewhat aiding to social surroundings or benevolent to further some development which if happen than will be helpful to mankind, to people, to culture, to whole society or even Environment. So I think that before researching on any topic scientist and researchers has to look upon the prospect of can be achieved or accomplished at the end of the research or project. Will it be helpful to anyone significantly? Is there a need of further derivation or accomplishment which can produce benefactory to anyone involved.

Secondly, it can also be possible that the all the funding necessary to evaluate the project or research is funding by investing firms or by government organizations. In all the cases, the source of funding will desire for some fruitful accomplishment which can deliver intended prospects to the affected sources. On researching having no perfect intended goal can cost far more than the results obtained at last. If the government is funding in any case, then funds will be on account of their tax payers and government’s beneficiary incomes, In those cases, Public will be concern about on which purposes those amounts are being consumed, what are the prospective of that project. So government might be willing to address the researchers to have some concrete idea or purpose.

However it can also be possible that the innovations that can benefit the greatest can be accomplished fortuitously. Take Yahoo as example, was just inteded to provide a platform that can help people to communicate effectively and with more speed and easy via internet but afterall what turns out to be is miracle. That changed the all accomplishment prospective. Instagram was intended to serve as a navigating application but turns out to be the largest multimedia sharing platform. So this all are can be countered as to oppose the statement. But as without certain profitable aim , to research or to try to create something would be inane.

Amalgamating all in one, I found this statement cogent, though it has certain drawbacks and restrictions. One can’t be liberal about spending money which is not significantly benificiary. Even though not the accomplishment but any research, which in end, is harbinger to more significant development which can be occur after that should also be permitted but significant benefit should always be considered as pioneer to any research or project of researchers or scientists.