Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The assertion that scientists should focus their efforts on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people holds true when looking at real-world and hypothetical examples. Projecting this statement on a multitude of unrelated fields proves that the amount of conducted research should be parallel to the amount of its beneficiaries. Whether researchers are working to eradicate a global pandemic or merely providing supply where there is demand, helping the masses always proves to help the individuals as well.

Firstly, focusing efforts that would benefit a large amount of people adheres to the principles upon which our economy is built: supply and demand. Creating products and services only remains lucrative when its producers are able to find customers willing to adopt said products. Much in the same way, scientists prove much more valuable to society when focusing their time and energy on improving conditions for a large number of people. By delving into a niche area of research, scientists may still prove valuable but do not help balance the system of supply and demand. They are merely feeding the needs of a smaller, perhaps more vociferous, group. In doing so, their work becomes less profitable making it harder for them to continue their research.

Secondly, when researchers work on thematically broad research, it can spark the interest of influential people. Celebrities and other talking heads have been known to support causes they relate to. By researching very specific topics, these people will feel alienated much more easily. By focusing on a problem that speaks to a large group, more people will become invested and more resources will be located for further research. These resources will help drive scientist’s efforts and afford them to go beyond the scope of their initial efforts. Focusing on fields that are not relatable, however, will dry up resources and prevent scientists from properly doing their job.

Opponents of the statement supported in the introduction can argue that every life should be valued equally and choosing a large amount of people over a limited group is a selfish act. This position is absolutely specious: even though improving a large number of people’s lives seems to simply shove aside the so-called ‘little-man’, sometimes helping one particular individual can make a difference for an entire group of the population. Every epidemic starts with one person and focusing research on curing ‘patient zero’ can benefit the masses by simply keeping the brewing disease at bay.

In conclusion, the assertion that researchers should focus their efforts on areas that benefit a number of people has proven accurate. After projecting the assumption on multiple areas and evaluating its benefits, it is clear that helping the masses also indirectly benefits individuals.