Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

I concede that some scientists made great contributions for the benefit of people by focusing on areas that they think will make a change in human’s life. However, I disagree with the statement in two respects. First, not all these progresses are made with a predetermined purpose. Second, the importance of developments in areas that may not seem like benefiting the majority in the short term should not be ignored.

I agree with the statement insofar as our lives has changed dramatically with the advent of scientific inventions designed to bring benefits to majority people. Just like how the invention of phonographs, cinecameras and electric light made by a venerable and profound inventor-Thomas Alva Edison, who had over 2000 inventions that are beneficial to humankind and lead human to electric lighting era-revolutionized the human visionary function. With the view of bringing light to the public so that people can read at night, Edison finally found a new illuminate called Japanese bamboo filament after trying over 6000 fiber material. Undoubtedly, these researches that serve to bring convenience to most people should be advocated.

However, some great inventions are a product of unexpected discoveries rather than a consequence of purposely benefiting the public in that goals are results do not always serve in the same direction. The surprising discovery of Penicillin can be cited as an example. Alexander Fleming, a biochemist who ended an age when contagions are virtually untreatable by helping human find a powerful bactericidal medicine-Penicillin, found an aberrant substance as a result of bacteriolysis in his laboratory after leaving scores of substrates unwashed. Therefore, it is presumptuous to define which research to focus on simply from its potential results since results are usually indeterminable.

Another problem with this argument is that it overlooked other researches that do not benefit the greatest number of people yet are still fundamental to a nation. While the public is the foundation of a country and benefiting the public seems to be at the top priority, there are other considerations that may affect a country in the long term, which includes national defense, outer space researches and history researches. Take the benefit of having outer space researches as an example. Although researches in outer space may seem have no direct effect on the public, it is necessary and closely related to human’s life in that it makes our daily communication with family via communication satellite and speculations on weather via the weather satellite possible. All these attributions will not exist without researchers’ efforts.

To sum up, researchers’ focus should not be constrained to studies that will benefit the majority people, instead, they should be free from such a restriction. In addition, investigations in all areas are encouraged.