Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many people argue that scientists should focus their work mainly on the areas which can bring the well being to the greatest number of people. I fully agree with such an assertion, as it is easier for scientists to achieve great academic success and they can make the best use of the funds invested in the scientific researches.

Admittedly, every person should have the right to enjoy the benefits which are brought by scientific researches. For example, many scientists are targeting to cue some diseases that mostly occur in Africa. These diseases normally plague a small number of people in some places, but the government and World Health Organisation still pour plenty of funds in order to rescue the people who suffer from the diseases. Therefore, scientific researches should not limit to the areas that only relate with the majority, the well being of the minority also requires greater attention.

However, as the resources needed for a scientific research are sometimes far beyond our imagination, we should also take the effectiveness and outcome of the research into consideration. Obviously, the scientific research which is targeting to overcome the problem of the majority is most likely to achieve the desired success. For example, many tech giants and institutions over the world are now focusing on artificial intelligence to solve transportation problems. As we all know, many drivers don’t have qualified skills in driving, and thereby there’re bunch of vehicle accidents in the world every year. Imagine in the future, the artificial intelligence totally replace human in driving and reduce the accident rate to a very low level. Such a scientific achievement will certainly benefit most of us and the companies which invent artificial intelligence system will also make a great deal of profit from it.

Moreover, the research area which focuses on most of the human beings will be much easier to achieve greatness compared with other fields. Since the most popular research fields normally have been discovered by many predecessors, scientists nowadays can base their work on these precursors’ theories and experiments. This will definitely increase the possibility to make a breakthrough in some specific areas. By contrary, less popular scientific researches tend to be difficult and less discovered. If scientists devote themselves to these areas, they may spend plentitude of time and effort but with little achievement.

In sum, the decision made by scientists to do research on areas which benefit the greatest number of people is understandable and reasonable, as scientific researches require huge amount of funds. Also, scientists are more likely to succeed in popular research areas due to the work done by many precursors.