Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The recommendation that researchers must focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the masses has an underlying assumption that not all scientific areas or research are beneficial for the society. However, the assertion holds merit in the sense that the ultimate aim of scientific research should not be knowledge generation but must be extended to benefit humanity in particular and the world in general.

Scientific research can be broadly categorized as ‘pure’ and ‘applied’. The former aims to unravel the mysteries and generate knowledge without any pre-defined ultimate application whereas the latter attempts to use existing principles and knowledge to develop solutions for well-defined problems much for the benefits of the masses. The recommendation fails to consider not only the fact that applied research itself feeds on the pure or fundamental research but also the unpredictable nature of the potential application of the latter. No one could have predicted that Newton’s pondering on ‘the fall of an apple’ would ultimately pave way for launching satellites into outer orbits and thus laying the foundation of modern communication benefitting the entire global populace. Similarly, the end rewards for understanding the atomic structures, photoelectric effect, DNA, etc. could only become visible after those discoveries were already done. Thus, research areas which are apparently not beneficial for the society today may prove useful in the end.

However, scientific research is costly, and generally that cost is borne by the tax-paying public, who then must be entitled to reap the benefits of scientific discoveries. Given the limited resources and time that researchers have to deal with the issues that threaten the very human existence, complete dependence on fundamental research areas and new knowledge generation rather than using the present knowledge to address these challenges might prove costly. For example, when the world is facing the crisis of fossil fuel depletion, increased energy consumption and global warming, a heavy research focus on extra terrestrial life cannot be justified.

Moreover, the focus of applied research should not be limited to the interest of few elites or states but must be oriented towards the benefits of a greater general populace. For example, when millions are suffering from serious diseases, lack of access to clean water, poisonous air, etc., enormous spending on developing modern weapons is in fact cruel. Moreover, research that caters for the need of the people will ultimately benefit others forms of life in this symbiotic world where every species is dependent on the other for their survival. For instance, efforts to curb water pollution will help preserve aquatic life and by extension the food resource for the coastal population. A pragmatic way to follow the recommendation would be to establish a balance between research funding for pure and applied research. The allocation of research funding for the latter must then be based on the hierarchy of needs as laid-out by Maslow and the principle that every human is entitled to have his needs or problems addressed.

In conclusion, the recommendation though appears to trivialize the importance of pure scientific research, it is indeed true in asserting, as Bill Gate points out, that ‘humanity’s greatest advancement are not in its discoveries - but in how those discoveries are applied to reduce inequity’.