Scientists and researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Every new breakthrough or invention that takes place in the medical field and/or otherwise is for the advancement of humans in general. Each and every research is done for the sole purpose of finding something new or finding something more advanced than the previous known fact that could make the world a better known place for the public. The issue given here implies that research should be only done in areas that are going to benefit the general population. This is a highly generalised statement for the reasons that will be stated below.

First and foremost, before any research, we are not sure of the result that we are going to obtain. Any research is going to be an experiment that might or might not give us the type of results that we expected. Hence, to generalise a statement as the one given and say that the research areas should be limited to a majority in not equitable. The research of a very small thing that has previously never been even minutely connected to a particular disease can be proven to be the ultimte cure for the disease here mentioned. And hence, unexpectedly turn out to be beneficial to the entire world.

Secondly, in a country like India where 1 person in 10 has tuberculosis which obviously doesn't constitute the majority and still measures up to 10.2 billion approximately, it is not correct to not focus on research in this area just because it's not the majority. Majority or not, It is a substantial number of people and hence there should be advancement in this field for the betterment of the society as a whole. I strongly believe that not one case should be discarded just because it hasn't yet affected the greater section of the people.

Also to be taken into account is the fact that had Galilleo never thought of and went on to prove that the earth was infact a sphere and not a flat surface, had he not researched it and had he believed the same ideology that was believed by the entire world, he wouldn't have ever been able to make this huge discovery. Hence, for advancements in all aspects of life, it is very necessary for scientists and researchers to research deeply into anything that they believe in and they think useful.

Having said the above, I also would like to say that it is also not righteous when a research is being done on a subject where there is no proper aim or goal and is just done peremptorily. Researchs are started because there are questions that are not answered yet and hence the researches are hoping to discover them for the world and for themselves. A lot of time, money and energy is invested in eavh of the experiments and hopes of a gazillion other people are attached with it. That shouldn't be taken lightly.

Thus, if there is a legit doubt and if there's a scope for further discovery or advancement in any field that might help the mankind and the world in general, research should be carried out by scientists, no matter how many people are finally affected by the result.