Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

When it comes to the issue the importance of preservation endangered species, some people believe that we have an obligation to protect not only endangered species but also whole creatures. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account of the following reasons.

To illustrate my position, let us take a look on why some people dislike the idea of protection of species. To preserve the nature and species, we need to pay much money for researches and employees, while most countries have not a proper economic condition.

Although I admit that we have to spend much money for protecting species, I believe that advantages of this project are apparent. The first reason is that our survival depends on nature and species. Every species have a certain role to keep balance nature, and extinction each of them can disrupt the life cycle. Hence, we have to preserve all animals in order to maintain our survival.

A further point we must consider is that human has an ethical duty to protect on nature, because they are reprehensible in animals’ extinction. Some people say that several extinctions were happened in the history of the Earth, so it is a common process and we should not interfere with it. However, they ignore that the scenario is different in the recent age. After industrial revolution, human activities had increased so tremendously that nature is not able to restore itself.

All above evidence supports this undeniable that we should protect other species because our survival depends on them, and also it is a moral responsible. Of course, as an English proverb goes “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those who have the opposite view partially reasonable that this project surely is expensive. Nevertheless, I think that its profits outweigh disadvantages.