Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

The vast historical records of the evolutionary process on planet earth would totally agree with the fact that the fittest and the most adaptable survives and thrives in this race of evolution, and clearly the mere existence of 14,000 years on this planet for Homo Sapiens, a.k.a, humans have no say whatsoever in this process.

We learn the examples of extinction of Dinosaurs who vanished in a fraction of a second and left their crocodile brothers behind, just because they had adapted to live inside water, and thus survived that global catastrophe. The existence of the great white bear in Antarctica is one such recent case. There were no white bears until one genetically mutated white bear was born. To his shear serendipity, the white surroundings of Antarctica were ideal for him to hunt and feed, and this gave him an advantage over black peers to survive which finally led to extinction of black bears from Antarctica.

In all these examples the human hand was minimal and it was impossible for the society to deal with it no matter what. But examples like these are not the exhaustive list of cases where humans had no hand. Take a case of tigers in Asia Pacific region. The heinous and vast scale killings of tigers left them to the point of extinction. But the better part is, they realized their mistakes and things are improving ever since then.

Though I would agree that society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities, but the hypothesis is flawed as it is very difficult to find the human hand because of lack of all the aspects that need to be considered as an influence. For an example, we have no idea how our radio technology is impacting different species, and can potentially lead them to extinction. It's hard to evaluate the quantifiable impact of human activities right now that could affect the future of any species, and that’s exactly why our society, no matter how much determined to, but cannot roll back the impact of their activities. So thought society should, ideally, make efforts to save the species endangered as a result of human activities, but there is no prevention to this disease, just cure.