Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the pollution brought by human activities, many species are on the verge of extinction or have already died out. Therefore, the author claims that our society should take some actions to protect the endangered species from dying out only when the potential extinction is the result of human activities. From my point of view, I agree with the statement, but I also recommend that the protecting list should be extended to include the species which are not affected by human beings.

First, it is difficult to define the influences human activities have on the endangered species. Our earth is replete with hundreds of thousands of species, and most of them are closely interwoven with each other. Some of the human behaviours which can cause severe outcomes for specific species are normally overlooked by human themselves. For example, the over use of modern vehicles is often recognised as a cause leading to air pollution, which could affect the living conditions of some birds. However, such a human activity is also a major source of the overwhelming noise in our society, which has an impact on the lifespan of some small creatures, as they cannot tolerate the noise. Therefore, as human are not able to draw a accurate evaluation about the detriment they have on species, a more comprehensive protection plan should be made to not only involve the species directly affected by human but also the species which are previously ignored.

Also, the merit of protection of the natural species is obvious. As we all know, we people live in the earth have close interaction with the natural world. Natural species, the environment and us together form the ecological balance of the earth. If such a balance was undermined because of human activities or other reasons like collisions between earth and other stars, the environmental disasters it brings may ruin the prosperity of human civilisation. For example, the over hunting of some wild animals has resulted the disequilibrium of eco-system in Africa, thereby causing the drought or flood of some places, which kills a lot of people and leads to the economic dilemma of some countries. Therefore, a protection toward endangered species is indispensable and should be adopted immediately.

In sum, since we cannot comprehensively define the impact human activities have on the endangered species, we should take the responsibility for preserving them from extinction indiscriminately, as their death may cause an ecological catastrophe to our society.