Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

When it comes to saving endangered species, people in general believe that we should save all of the endangered species, or our future generation will not have the chance to see those animals or plants. Our offspring could only know current endangered, but extinct in their time, from our descriptions, or any knowledge documented in books or the Internet. However, the resources are not sufficient to save all endangered species. That is, humans play as God to decide which species could live, and which do not have the right to survive. This is somehow improper but we may not have enough resources.

To begin with, consider that if the resources are abundant for protecting all endangered species, the natural selection will be impeded by human intervention. We, humans, could become who we are right now, is due to natural selection. Therefore, if we intervene with the natural selection, the consequence is too catastrophic to imagine. Consider, for instance, we protect a particular insect that is under threat of extinction, but post serious harms to the crops of our agriculture. Should we protect that particular insects? Imagine if we make efforts to protect them, our agriculture production will severely be hampered by our protection. Nevertheless, if we choose profits of agriculture over the conservation of the insect, our future generation will not have the opportunity to witness that beautiful but extinct insect. Therefore, there are more aspects to evaluate than merely protect or not.

On the contrary, if we only protect those species that are endangered due to human activities, it may be plausible. To illustrate, there is an appropriate example that is very persuasive. The polar bear population is serious threatened by the global warming, which is mainly caused by the increasing carbon dioxide in the atmosphere from the emission of factories or transportation. The public can save them by reducing the emission of carbon dioxide, such as taking public transportation rather than driving individual cars, or developing innocuous or less harmful substances that could be used for production in factories. Through these attempts to protect endangered species, it is possible that the decline of polar bear population could be checked.

In conclusion, all the analysis points to a plausible perspective that we, humans should make extra endeavors to save endangered species that are under extinction due to human activities.