Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.Write a response in which you disc

In the recent times of turbulent changes, corporations' help is eagerly solicited to save the environment and protect the well-being of society as a whole. Though the major motive of any corporation is to make as much money as possible, but in the current global scenario when environment is changing for the worse and the ill-deeds of human beings are being "paid-off" by our mother Earth in the form of "Global Warming" and the like, the corporations undoubtedly have a major role to play.

At this time, we can ask ourselves a question, why sould any industry put their important resources to protect the society and environment? For answering this question, we may have to do time travel. We go back to the times of industrial revolution in England and other parts of the world. Because of industrial revolution, coal mining industry had become very important. Coal was mined indiscriminately and also because of this, many migrant workers settled in the industrial towns in exorbitant count. The living conditions of these migrant workers were extremely squalid prone to many diseases and because of large scale coal mining, the environment of the city/town was that nobody could breathe in air without coal dust. The crux of this example is make understand that industries "have" changed the living conditions and environment and people can peremptorily "tell" to corporations that "you" cannot deny your part in destroying the environment and you should take part in saving measures. Still for paper industry or for clearing land for setting up an industry, forests are being wiped out and there are so many other examples. Its perfectly fine for the corporations to make as much money within law but

that day is not far when despite having amassed wealth, there would be no wood to be bought or cut as raw material for the paper industry. We can also take examples of the industries releasing waste materials into the river or release greenhouse gases into atmosphere. The effect of global warming is noticeable to everybody. The polar ice is dwindling faster than we think it is. The sea level is rising. The future of small island is in danger. And not only people, some nuclear reactors are also settled at the coast line in many countries. Because of the adverse effects of enviroment caused by improvident activities of corporations, one day, would engulf these corporations also.

In addition to moral redressal needed on the corporations part, the corporations like banks, software industries, which do not directly influence environment, should invest also in the greater cause for protect the society and environment. The big corporations like nationalised banks like Bank of America, giant IT companies like Google, Apple etc can spend some part of their profit say 2% for saving the environment. For example, Google has recently set a data center powered by renewable energy. These big companies have unusually high revenues and man power which they can use for this purpose. In contrast, smaller industries lack in these resources. So it is fine for them to pursue their monetery activities unless they are producing their adverse effect on environment. And if these big brands go on with their plans for "CSR" -

Corporate Social Responsibility - sometime in future set a legacy for emerging smaller companies to follow the same suit.

What would happen if all the corporations think that earning money is the only purpose they serve? It would have serious consequences. If car companies do not spend millions of dollars in researching solar powered cars and one day petroleum products are going to end. Then what would happen? Countries will be at war for reserving their rights on polar petroleum reserves currently unexplored. If afforestation is not done faster than deforestation, the entire Earth would be denuded. No amount of money can remedy these losses. People upon not finding resources to make both ends meet, there would be deadly clashes for jobs, water etc. This situation is a complete catastrophy.

Recapitulating, its indeed high time to ask corporations to do substantially for saving the society and environment. They can make all the money they want within the boundaries of law, but they should spend some part of thier profits for "correcting" the mistakes done in the past. This would be helpful for all the people in the world.