Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When faced with the vital decision of their field of study, there are myriad factors students may take into consideration. If one's one talents and interest align well with the demands of the job market, it would be an ideal situation; if not, there may be a dilemma. I think college students should prioritize their talents and interests when selecting their specialization, and job availability should be secondary.

It is understandable that graduating with a heavy student debt, a readily available market with an abundance of jobs would save most students a huge headache. They would not suffer the painful dilemma of changing into a field completely unrelated to what they work on for the last four years, or going unemployed. It sounds more secure financially to have a job lined up as you graduate. However, is an easier way out necessarily the best way out?

When college students say they want a decent job, what they ultimately pursue is a fulfilling career. For some individuals, the monetary benefit associated with a job could bring fulfillment. These individuals would probably find a field with plentiful of jobs appealing. However, for many others, working in a field which they are keenly passionate about is a much more satisfying feeling than all the money in the world could bring. Can you really dismiss the enormous excitement in discovering new dinosaur fossils, creating a thought-provoking artwork, or finding a cure for a rare genetic disease, just because they are not the easiest path to take or do not make you a millionaire? Moreover, the people who top their field are always the people who are passionate about it, and have endless energy for it. An easier job may not have the same fulfillment

Job market is extremely dynamic, and the intricate interaction between supply and demand of talent is less than predictable. Choosing a field of study which enjoys a high demand on the job market today in no ways guarantees an easy job on the other end of the four-year degree. Biotechnology was the trending field of study three years ago, but nowadays pharmaceutical companies and research institutes become replete of talented biologists and engineers. New graduates face an ominous future for pursuing jobs in their chosen field due to a recent saturation in job market which no experts predicted four years ago.

For the reasons discussed above, students should not choose a field of study based on insecurity and often baseless judgment. If one thing in this world is constant and will never betray you, it is your passion and talent.