Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is a hotly debated issue that whether undergraduate students should choose the field of study primarily based on their interests or the prospect of the major. As far as I am concerned, the job opportunity is of course, an important goal. Nevertheless, students should pay more attention to their own aptitudes, my reasons are listed as follows.

First, career opportunity is essential for better living condition and personal goals. On the one hand, in the era of globalization, some fields of study are increasingly popular than others, such as computer science and biological chemistry. Students are more likely to fulfill their ambitions in these fields since they would have more access to sophisticated laboratory, advanced techonolgy and govenrment supports. On the other hand, jobs with limited opportunities may render students anxious about their career, thus wasting more time on their study.

Granted that career is a crucial determination, the statement that students are therefore supposed to heed to avalability of the job is still unwarranted because the underlying assumption that students are capable of discerning the job opportunities of each discipline is fallible. Generally speaking, students without a basic knowledge of their majors, which is the common circuntances when they are choosing a field of study tends to judge a discipline by social concensus and even sometimes rumors, but not their own understanding, thus the information may be flawed or misleading. Additionally, if we assume that the market tends to be efficient, it makes no difference whatever discipline students settle in, since in the long run all discipline would bring about almost similar opportunities. It is not far to reach a apposite illustration. Five years ago, students in China majoring in applied science have better job opportunities than their humanities colleges, since applied science appears to be lucrative, it gained popularity soon and was even canonized. It turns out that the job opportunity for applied science this year is similar, if not inferior to the humanities. Thus, the efficiency of markets guarantee the general equal chances among all disciplines. Or rather, students should not take the avalability of jobs as their first priorities.

Last but not least, idyosyncrasis for a particular student is his/her real treasure that he/she should make the most of. To begin with, one cannot judge the outside trend clearly, he/she can, however, have a true and most accurate understanding of himself/herself. With the knowledge of what he/she really counts and relishes, one could choose the major that he/she could learn with full passion and ambition. Richard Feynman, a renowned physicist, choosed physic, which is not promising compared to engineering under the background of post WWII reconstruction, based on his own aptitudes and interests. The enthusiasm in Physics motivated him to study day and night; the talents endowed him unrival inspiration, the Nobel prize was the best award for his audacious choice.

To conclude, since a student is more or less confused with the prospects of a discipline but more clear realization of his or her own qualities and interests. Plus, The market force tends to equalize the job opportunities among all disciplines, it makes more sense to follow his/her own hearts in the process of decision-making.