Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Universities and higher learning were originally established in order to afford young students the ability to create a fundamental foundation of knowledge and build upon it. Students studied subjects that interested them; as a result, innovation increased at an exponential rate. Today, colleges pressure incoming students towards particular programs in order to increase their respective job placement rates and create a network of decently paid corporate executives. Alternatively, I believe that students should be pursue academics that coincide with their talents and interests.

To begin, school should be about learning, not finding a job. The word "job" is inherently temporary and implies a short-term time frame. On the other hand, careers tend to be long-term. Careers are found by a combination of factors: good work atmosphere and a general interest in the responsibilites. Apple founder and former CEO Steve Jobs credits his course work in caligraphy to his success, stating that it influenced his work. He studied a course he was keenly interested in, and as a result, it paid off. Perhaps if he didn't take the course because it wasn't practical, Apple would not have become the technology titan it is today. Universities are for higher learning, not enhanced job placement; students' should be encouraged to learn about subjects that interest them.

Furthermore, nobody aims to be mediocre. Students should not limit their work to "adequate." For one to excel in the workplace they must master their respective fields. This can only be done by being a student and being hungry to learn more about ones' industry. To illustrate, examine Bill Gates: growing up, Gates had an affinity for computer science. At the time, the industry was growing, but was microscopic compared to what it has evolved into today. Nonetheless, Gate's was passionate and dedicated his childhood to enhancing his skills. Subsequently, he grew alongside the industry, and is now the world's wealthiest man. Nobody would have been able to predict the success of computers, but Gates follow his passions. Commit to mastering your interests and work will find it's way.

Alternatively, there are luxuries that studying an in-demand field can offer that others can not offer. For instance, job safety: choosing to study a subject that has a large supply of available jobs can assure students a job. This safety may be what prospective students want. Incertainty can accompany following your dreams, and it is not for everybody. In contrasts, the aforementioned example regarding Bill Gates highlights how unpredictable the future can be. Currently, the Taxi industry is being enervated by the rise of ridesharing companies such as Uber and Lyft. Job safety is not guaranteed for any industry.

Nonetheless, who is to say what will or will not be in-demand in ten years? The future is unpredictable; it is important to follow what you love, master it and jobs will come as a result of this mastery.