"Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning." - Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns

Education is light of life that makes us to deal with various challenges, and enhance our imagination. As an educational institution assigns grades to a student, some people assume that students should be encouraged to earn higher grades, while other criticize this point by claiming that such measure would deteriorate the quality of educations. Making the students contend for higher marks, in my opinion, can debase the quality of educations because it may hampers student’s imagination, hinders fundamental knowledge, and makes incompetent for their future career.

Students are lauded when they do great during an examination. If one excels during the exam they are also provided by tangential gifts such as awards, scholarships. This may encourage other students to do better in exams. However, while following such path, students may deviate from actual process of learning, and mainly focus on earning in higher marks. For instance, students motivated to achieve higher grades only focuses on the important question, know the answer by memorizing rather than understanding the fundamental reasoning, or even cheats during the examination. This leads to debasement of the educational system, which paramount role is to provide knowledge and inculcate good and moral values on students; thus, the educational institutions only produces a titular graduated person instead of insightful person, who can confront with the further challenges of his or her life.

The function of the tutor is to enhance the imaginative power of the student, along with providing the knowledge to them. However, the examination, conducted by institution, is not genuine indicator of one’s knowledge and insightfulness. Many people are unable to achieve success however they have achieved good grades. On the other hand, there are reputed people, despite their poor academic performance, are able to achieve success in their career. For example, Albert Einstein, was not good at his academic performance, however, he was full of conceit. Forcing the students to acquire higher grade will compel them to adhere to a pre-established principle for attaining good score while such approach can hinder the imaginative power of students.

However, it is inevitable that the competition for the higher score make a student to engage in an academic activity, by which he may expels the class. By surpassing the class, he may be happy for a certain period of time, but main challenge remains outside the institutions. The role of the education is to make students capable for their future by teaching them good values and apt behavior, while not only focusing on the scores.

In conclusion, competition for the grades can impede student to achieve true value of the education. Contention for grades can make student failure in future life, strip from basic knowledge, and frustrate their imaginations.