Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I believe that corporations should have the social and environmental responsibilities along with their duties to enrich their shareholders. Companies, just like humans, take part in society and share the resources that we all use on this planet. Taking a helpful role in society as well as promoting the well-being of the environment on Earth is almost necessary in this day and age for a corporation to be socially accepted. In this day and age, taking on only a myopic view to focus only on the monetary gains can be viewed extremely negatively, which possibly would be damaging to a company image, thus hurting profitability prospects due to the public boycotting of their products or services. As a result, corporations operating in the 21st century should take a holistic approach on social and environmental responsibility, even if all they care about is the money.

In regards to social responsibility, it is critical for a firm to consider their actions carefully. Just like citizens of the Earth, corporations should have the duty of promoting a peaceful and healthy society. One example is with the pharmaceutical industry. Initially, it seems to be a smart business decision to raise the price for a pharmaceutical company's patented drug considering an inelastic demand curve, meaning a strong demand regardless of the price. However, as one can see in popular news today, certain pharmaceutical companies have gone overboard and raised the prices of their important drugs by thousands of percent and has been accused by Hillary Clinton for their inappropriate actions. Those drugs could save lives if they were sold at a lower price, but the company chose to thinking only about their profits. As a result, the brand image of the pharmaceutical company was hurt significantly, and their profits shrank as a result of boycotting and legal fines.

Moving on to environmental responsibility, a clear example is the impact of selling cars that are dangerous to the environment. For one, KIA had claimed to meet environmental regulatory standards for their cars. However, in the later years, it was revealed that they actually had fudged their numbers and had not met these fundamental safety standards. In turn, there was a strong dislike for their brand among environmentally and socially conscious consumers, therefore hurting their sales.

Finally, in the opposite view, with only a focus on profits can lead a corporation to fall into the many traps that was mentioned above. It is easy to only focus on profits, but to build a strong, successful company that lasts the test of time, it is vital to build a foundation of social and environmental ethics that is promoted throughout the firm.

In the end, social and environmental responsibilities are necessary to create strong profits, year after year. To only consider profits without a overarching view of society and environment can lead to devastating results of social exclusion and extreme legal fees. In conclusion, it is better to focus on the whole picture, even if profits is the main goal.