Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A corporate mindset of the modern world is that one has to make as much money as possible, hook or crook. They are fully devoted to their goal of money-making that they do not bother about anything other than that. Some people, on the other hand, believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies around them as well as the environment in which they operate. They are of the opinion that money-making is not the sole purpose of an organisation and uplifting the society and taking care of the environment is an integral part of their operation.

Many corporations worldwide are in a race, a race to amass large amount of profits while proving to be better than their competitors. In the process, they fail to be responsible towards other aspects of running their organisation, that is, how their operation is affecting the society at large and the environment. Most corporate leaders are in effect blinded and oblivious to the matters outside the money-making agenda. Why not, after all money is one of the most important things that a man needs to possess. But are they right in their ways, even though they operate within the law? In my opinion, definitely not. I second the view that they have a much larger responsibility as voiced by first section of people. If they go about satisfying their greed, there is no doubt that the world will be degraded in a large number of ways.

One of the most significant impacts that corporations have while they operate is on the environment. Many of the industrial companies have total disregard for the environment and exploit it to the maximum to fulfil their needs. Consider the case of an iron ore mining company which is only motivated to making profits. It wouldn’t be hesitant to fell a large forest to the mine precious ore. Such a move would negatively impact the habitat a large number of species in the region. With their natural habitat gone, they would have nowhere to go and very well die off without resources. This would in turn, affect the ecological imbalance in the region and massive upset of the food chain. Pollution is another major concern. A thermal plant which again, just wants to earn money, would pollute the air by burning large amount of coal. It would cut down on technology that purifies its exhaust so that it can cut on its operational costs. Not only air pollution, a chemical processing company would release its wastes to the nearby water bodies, resulting in severe contamination, thereby cutting the costs relating to waste disposal. All this would ultimately lead making our planet hostile for our own survival.

Corporations also do not exhibit much concern on the society when they are put money before anything. Such a company might pay its employees and workers poorly and oppress them by forcing them to work overtime and on odd hours. This denies the workers to lead a normal life and instead just be slaves to their masters. There might even be a case where a corporation forcibly takes away the farms of poor villagers, wanting to set up their factories on those lands. Since those villagers largely rely on their lands for income, they would be left to lead an impoverished life with their land taken away.

All these instances suggest that corporations shouldn’t be solely focussed on making as much money as they can. Instead, they should make sure that they are not negatively affecting the society and the environment and also strife for betterment of the society and protection of the environment.