Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue of responsibility of corporations has become controversial recently. There are numerous conflicting ideas between those who claim that they should improve the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they work and others who state that their responsibility is to earn as much money as they can. In what follows, I will first discuss both of these views and then my own position would be delineated.

To begin with, the primary reason for those who think that it is companies' responsibility to ameliorate the wellbeing of their working and social environment is that they think the companies have a great impact on the society and their activities cause change of society values. It helps to think of companies which donate copious amount of money. As far as media pay considerable attention to this activities, people of such a society become aware of the poverty in their country and how they can aid others.

On the other hand, those who thinks that companies should just focus on making money state that when companies' income goes up, people's salary increases too; hence the people of society would experience higher levels of life standards. It helps to think of the United States. As far as many big companies are established there and they earn a lot of money each year, the GPD is very high and people have such an acceptable life style.

As for my point of view, I should say that I lodge myself somewhere between the two positions. In fact, what is missing in both of these viewpoints is that helping to improve the wellbeing of society and making money are not anathema; therefore, companies can be responsible for the wellbeing of the society as well as making a lot of money. In my opinion, when the companies make more money, they have more power to improve the wellbeing of their societies.

To sum up, no one can deny the role of corporations in developing their environment's wellbeing. Besides, the positive points of making more money by the companies cannot be rejected; however, I personally agree with they are responsible for both making money and improving wellbeing of their society since it seems more advantageous.