Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

Government funding arts is necessary for the development of arts and make it reach all people. However, the funding threatening the integrity of arts is not necessary. Investment in arts promotes traditions and the cultural value of any state or a country in whole.

Firstly, investment in art would encourage more artists and attract tourists to the country. For example, Washington Dc has many tourists not only because it is the capital city but also has a wide range of museums like National gallery of art. This would indeed contribute to the country’s economy and also helps to preserve the traditions of the country. The development of art will result in excellence, innovation, professional development and integrity in the field of arts. In the present world, with the increase in contemporary art, it is difficult for this field to burgeon without the backup from the government.

Secondly, appreciation of art should not be confined only to the affluent class of the society who can effort expensive painting. An art is more appreciated when it reaches to all classes of public. If we take a look at the European art, the painting of profound artists like Da vinci are open to public thus, the people enjoy class museums, galleries. This cannot be achieved without the help of the government.

One may argue that government-funded art projects can bias against artists who dissent the current situation. A modern artist almost has to be critical towards his or her contemporaries to create any artwork remotely interesting or meaningful. For example, if you take away the anger towards the communist regime in Ai Wei Wei's art, it becomes lifeless and pointless. A government sure should not have a say on what an artist produces, or what opinions they voice. However, this is not necessarily at odds with the presence of government funding in art. Being aware of this potential danger, we only need a carefully-regulated and relatively independent committee to assess the funding opportunities. Moreover, the presence of government funding does not eliminate artist's opportunities to get funded by international dealers, just like in the case of Ai Wei Wei.

In sum, the government help is required for art to flourish and in return helps the country development and preserve the culture and traditions.