Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Essay topics in audio

While acknowledging the fact that selfish interest might play a little role when the government funds the art, however, I believe that the government funding will go a long way in the proliferation of arts as will be elucidated in the points below.

Firstly, when the government financially supports her people, they are financially empowered. By so doing, individuals get encouraged to pursue and develop the aspect of art that appeals more to him or her. Take for instance a young talented writer from a poor background. With government funding, she can get her work published and distributed to people. Thereby motivating the writer and spreading the literary arts. Furthermore, with sponsorship from the school, those talented individuals for instance in music, theatre art etc, who have ended up becoming miscreants -possibly because of poverty and frustration- constantly roaming the street can be salvaged and sent to college. Perhaps, when they out, they will become more useful to their society

Secondly, our museums which in most cases are owned by government needs to be preserved. When these museums stop receiving support from the government, they will be relegated to a moribund state. The folding up of these museums will consequently create an adverse effect on our arts and culture. Take for instance in Nigeria where am from, our museum is the heart of our culture and history. When one goes there, you not only look through the art work, but the personnel’s there explain how these arts relates to our culture and origin. Therefore, it can be clearly seen that the effect of the close up of these museums will affect the society at large. Assuming the effect were to end only with the present people in the society that might be fair, but bad enough it extends even to our unborn children because we get to deny them those precious knowledge they are meant to tap from in those museums when they are shut down. Inadvertently stifling our culture.

Admittedly, when critically considered, it can easily be argued that government might want to support art conditionally. After all, there is no help without a selfish interest. While acknowledging, this sounds logical, in reality, this is barely the case. If government can give scholarships to bright students to study their desired courses at the university, if government can put up talents shows to encourage talented people, why won’t they with the same magnanimous heart support art? Moreover, it may be bad if the government decides to support art conditionally but it will be worse if they don’t support at all.

In conclusion, iterating what have been said before, without government support, possibly only the rich will be able to harness their talents since they have the needed resources to develop it. But when government steps in to render financial support, both the poor and middle class will be privileged to have their talents developed as well. Also, the government will prevent the death of museums and consequently prevent the death of the arts and culture in the society.