Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some people advocate for the necessity of government funding of arts in ensuring its prosperity and availability to all people. While some other people argue that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts. Both of view are reasonable in a way. Mine is more closely align with the former one.

It is surely necessary for the government to fund arts. The government funding of arts is a part of government budgets used to stimulate the development of the field of art, just like the government funding of economic stimuli and political strategies. The purpose is to boost the advancement in the area. Especially for arts, the financial help of government is necessary. Different with economics and politics, arts seem not to be a life-or-death issue. So people tend to disparage it’s benefits and necessity and therefore tend not to invest or participate at cost, which makes it particularly vital for governments to boost the development of arts. Besides, due to government funding, many art museums and fairs are free to public. This makes it possible for all people to have access to art words and participate in cultural events. Subsequently, people, in general, will become more appreciate of arts and thereby more likely contribute to the prosperity of arts. Hence government funding of arts is necessary to ensure the thrive of arts and availability to all people.

On the other hand, government funding could threaten the integrity of arts, but not necessary. All funds are driven by certain purposes. According to National Assembly of State Arts Agencies, private funds are very often driven by personal goals and therefore more biased. In contrast, government funding tends to serve the interest of the public. Government funding is distributed based on the cultural needs and assets of local people. In other words, the government could just provide people the artworks they want without imposing any political or any other kind of thoughts. At the same time, the government funding could threaten the integrity of arts by imposing certain purposes, good or bad. For example, Nanjing Massacre Memorial Hall is funded by the Chinese government for people to remember the history when about three hundred thousand people were killed by the Japanese army in 1937. Whether people want it or not, the government decided people should be reminded of it and therefore funded it. The funding is provided by the government, artworks more or less will be restrained by the policies and standards. Thus, government funding may harm the integrity of arts; yet, not all arts are imposed with governments’ agenda.

In conclusion, align with my point of view, government funding of arts is necessary to help arts flourish and for all people to have access. On the other hand, it may threaten the integrity of some, not all, arts.