Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts. Write a response in which you

Art is an activity that is essential to human beings. Many kinds of arts are regarded as ways of entertainment for people after work. In India, after harvesting crops, farmers would hold singing competitions as well as shows, such as the song and dance duet which is famous in central India until now, to spend their free time. Nowadays, the young generations always visit the art exhibitions or Museum on holidays for relaxing and refreshing. Besides the function of entertainment, people would borrow the forms of arts to express their inner feels, for example, loving songs, such as My Heart Will Go On, are used to express the love of a couple in Titanic. Thus, lacking of arts, people’s daily life cannot be colorful.

But quite different from agriculture and industry that can directly produce products and commerce which can generate profits through buying and selling, the arts can hardly give the artists a large number of rewards in form of money. And few artists or amateurs can provide affluent money to build their own museums and concert halls for painting exhibitions and concerts. Van Gogh only sold one of his paintings during his life time with a little money and always worried about his three meals. There was no chance that he could support his own art show, let alone advertising to spread his ideas and art styles. The arts and artists themselves may not be strong enough to extend arts to more people even though needs for arts may eager.

Government funding may be the best way to solve this conflict. The functioning of the government is based on taxes from citizens and it is the duty for it to provide public goods. Thus, plunging moneys to support the development and spread of arts, such as giving allowances to eminent artists and holding competitions and exhibitions, is the government’s responsibility.

Some people hold the idea that government funding would have a negative influence on the arts integrity. They assume that, as with money, intervenes from the government would influence the artists when they selecting themes they want to present. Politicians may prefer to give money to the painters who praise their policies and public servicers do not favor the songs deride their low working efficiency. The case cited above would never happen as most media is charged by the private.

Actually, by well-designed policies, we can even give money to arts without harming their independence. The government can allocate taxes income to a N.G.O and let the organization spent money to hold exhibitions and help artists. Thus, the worry of some people can be eliminated.

Clearly then, I hold the opinion that arts can only be development under the financial support of the government.