Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Throughout the history the accessibility to the arts has been associated to the upper class of society. Mainly because the funding of the arts was also provided by these upper classes. Becoming— certainly— challenging to be available to all people. I consider that in a modern world like ours the government should play a major role in the development of the arts. This is, if more governmental funding is allocated for the arts then they have the resources to flourish and consequently be more available to all society. Nonetheless, one could argue that this ”commercialization” on a major scale contradicts the integrity of the arts due to losing the freedom and beauty that characterize them. I consider that there is no disassociation between the integrity of the arts and the funding they receive from the government— on the contrary— these two views could coexist.

To begin with, governmental funding is beneficial in several ways. It can facilitate the required resources to artist coming from poor families. An artist in this situation surely find useful to have the funds to pursuit a career, this will not constrain the freedom nor the integrity of the resulting piece of art. The other way around, the artist will be motivated to showcase the created art to the wider public. Say, for instance, the scholarships granted by the government to young talented musicians from precarious rural areas. This situation is positive in various ways. First, the upcoming artist counts on with a steady source of foundation. Second, his music might be exposed to a larger audience. Third, the motivation to create new music is encouraged — the musician has the freedom to explore different styles of music. Fourth, the rest of society benefits by having more musicians contributing to enhance the cultural identity of the country. Moreover, the previous argument can be generalized to any young artist facing precarious economy situation, if government supports them then his or her work is enhanced and showcased to all people.

However, as aforementioned above some people could believe that governmental funding of arts might end up with a major scale ”commercialization”. I strongly reject this thesis because it categorizes the arts into something exclusive to a particular group of people, leaving aside the rest of society not belonging to these elite groups. For instance, some of state-of-the-art films have been developed due the contribution of government. One remarkable example can be found in the filmography of Sergei Eisenstein which was entirely funded by the Soviet government. The low-prices of the entrances to the most prestigious museums of Europe are due to the government funding of the arts, it makes affordable to access these places to the majority of society.

To conclude, on the one hand the statement claims that the government should fund the arts in order for them to flourish and be available to all people. On the other hand, it is established that governmental funding might threatens the integrity of the arts. The first point of view has tremendous advantages for the artist and the people consuming the art, and I presented elements precluding a lack of integrity that arts might experience. As result of this, I consider that the governmental funding of arts is a vital feature that enhances many aspects of the arts.