Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

The statement depicts the dilemma of the author toward the necessity of government funding with the development in the arts field. The author agrees with the idea to fund the arts but is afraid that the fund could possibly damage the integrity of the arts. Arts as a form of human spirit plays an important role in society. Artists usually express their feeling or subconscious in art pieces and invoke resonances of audiences helping them to understand their own feeling or palliate their emotions suffering. The creation of arts come from the very honest feeling of the artists. Therefore, through government funding, the living condition of the artists altered, and thus the art pieces no longer reflect the real feeling of the artists at the moment.

However, from the previous sentence, by that, I don’t mean we shouldn’t fund the art industry, but I do mean not to fund the artists, which I will address on next passage. It is necessary for a government to fund in art facilities. In this way, not only cultures of a country can be preserved but also art pieces are more available to the mass population, and thus thrive the art industry as a whole. For example, the museum of Louvre, Paris, owns myriads of the art collections and attracts people from all over the world. With such prosperity, the museum is able to sustain its own as well as pushes their art industry further beyond.

Nevertheless, funding the artists is not as efficacious as funding the art facilities. By giving the artists supports, it is possible to change the living condition of them. But this can be seen as only a short-term strategy: it is insalubrious for the economy and the artists would possibly too rely on the fund. Moreover, the fund may also influence the mindset of the artists and usually touching art pieces requires themselves to face certain kind of quagmire and depict the struggle deep in their mind. Take Chinese poet as an example, one of the considered best calligraphy was created by Su Shi, Song dynasty, during which, he got framed by his political opponents, and the king decided to ostracize him, which resulted in his huge lugubriousness, thus engendering his masterpiece in tear.

In conclusion, it is necessary to fund the arts industry, especially arts facilities, but not the artists. Because funding the artists is generally not as effective as funding a museum which is more functional and accessible for the public. Furthermore, the supports from the government might threaten the integrity of the artists and that is noisome for them from long term perspective.