Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

The issue that increasing violence in society, especially among children, is because of the violence in media which is the belief of some people while others believe that a children's behavior is largely influenced by peer groups and parental role is a contentious one. While both sides have their strengths and weaknesses, I beleive that peer group and parental role have more influence on a child's behavior.

Throughout the day, children are either with their parents or with their friends. If there are continuous fights in the house between the tyro's parents or if there is a lot of negativity in the house, it has a very bad impact on the minds of naive children. Also when they are with their friends, if their friends are involved in acts like smoking or drinking, it would also, upto some extent, affect young child's minds. Thus it is the duty of parents to be very careful as to how they behave infront of their children as well as they should alsways keep an eye on the peer group of their child.

If we look at the positive side, a child on growing can become a responsible citizen of his country, if his parents imbibe good values in him. Children are always curious to know different things that happen around them, thus parents should tactfully try to educate them and mould them so that their minds are always pure and free from bad thoughts. The best way to do this is by communicating with the child, for example, whenever the child comes returns home from school or college, parents should ask him or her about their daily activities. In this way parents are aware of what is going on in their child's life. A little negligence can lead a child into doing indecorous things.

Also, if we go to see media also has a bit of influnce on the younger generation. Nowadays, children consider movie stars and sports stars to be their role model. Whatever activites, their role model does, they try to emulate it. For example, if there are stunt scenes in a particular movie,childrena re so influenced by that, without giving a second thought that it must be done with all the safety measures, they try to do it at home. This is very dangerous as it may even lead to death. Thus now the media people have to tell to not try these stunts at home.

To add to this, social media is trending these days. This is another example which has captured young minds to a great extent. But there has also been an increase in social media crimes. Frauds and plagiarism has increased and it has landed many in jail. If no steps are taken by the government in increasing the security or educating the youth, it will continue to rise and willlead to destruction.

In conclusion, I would say that before facing the outside world a child learns at home so the influence of parents play a major role. Also a child's personality is formed in the growing years itself and friends also have a significant role init after parents.For these reasons, I feel parents and peer groups have a much greater influence on child's behavior than media.