Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The 21st century technology boom has created exponential growth for information; the same course you are learning in the United States is being streamed in real-time to the deserts of Africa. In the past, it was imperative that political leaders withhold certain information. Alternatively, the opposite is true in today's age: technology has made in nearly impossible to withhold information, and it is the duty of our public servants to convey information to the public.

To begin with, it is only a matter of time before information is presented to the public. In fact, many viligilante groups that focus on hacking have made a point to create absolute transparency in politics by releasing classified documents. For instance, Wikileaks recently released a 500 page report highlighting the exact techniques the CIA utilizes in order to monitor unsuspecting citizens. President Trump was forced to admit to the truth of the claim after being ousted, thus tarnishing international relations and the public's opinion. The computer has transformed the political playing field, and hacking is a part of our everyday lives, whether we like it or not. It is imperative that political leaders convey knowledge before alternative forces do.

Furthermore, political leaders are public servants. Many spend months campaigning to win the approval of voters, often citing traits such as honesty and trusthworthiness. In a poll published by the Wall Street Journal, 94% of voters expect that political officials will convey complete information to them. We rely on a system of checks and balances. Without the transmission of information, the public can not assure that their leaders are acting on behalf of the Country. Elected officials are expected to act on behalf on their incumbents and present intelligence.

Alternatively, not all political frameworks require the release of all information. In the case of dictatorships, leaders are often placed into rulership rather than through traditional voting. Marxist communism acknowledges that leaders are a part of the private sector. Inherently, they are not required to admit to anything. Often, political injustices and tyrannic ploys may go unnoticed by authoritative rulers that don't release all the necessary information.

In summary, the maxim "knowledge is power" applies. Dictators operate under so much authority that the transmission of information is not neccessary, but in a world characterized by unlimited data and the balance of power, complete transparency is required.