Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leader must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political leader cope with all type of topic such as ecology, economics, national defense, and public concern. These concentrated issues sometimes do not retain as stable balance. Argument affords that some people agree with political leader who are willing to succumb to public opinion whereas others believes that political leader should have aptitude that consistent with one’s particular principle and objectivities. Principles and objectives are very important when it comes to follow strict laws, but more importantly, people who live in are the “people” who discuss, refute, and compromise. Further, if there is no people, no laws or principles live around. So, public opinion is significant matter to political leader follow.

There is ecological issue recent years, some article evaluates that if we do not have biodiversity on earth, then there will be twenty-percent extinction during this century and eventually fifty-percent extinction at the end of the century. But there is the fact which political leader ponder about is that there is great cost in money to help this issue. Most expert of ecology still debate but this future problem is nearby present. Further, more people will concern about what is and political leader should make a decision. In this problematic issue, political leader might not know about the information, but when political leader make a discussion with ecologists, then he will notice how to defuse public opinion.

Additionally, in historical value, Woodrow Wilson, former U.S. president, he made a historical value during his presidency, even though there was World War1. Nineteenth Amendment which is talking about women should have right to vote was applied. Before nineteenth amendment, women was marching for achievement of their right. They made petition that why only men can participate political party. If women did not oppose this principle that had been called, then women still could not have any right to vote, and if political leader did not listen on what public want, then this movement did not value much as what history told recently.

Lastly, political leader is for the people who have made a vote for; indeed political leader should protect people who do not have any authority and temerity from litigation. The primary reason to have political leader is because human being is socialized animal. Each person does not have power, but if they want to gather and consolidate their power, there should be representative for group, the populated group, and regions will find the person who are very eloquent about what group want. So, political leader should follow public concern and opinion in order for proceed.

In conclusion, in this argument, political leader should follow public opinion by following three evidences and reasons. Evidences about ecological issue and historical value about women mobilization are the fact that political leader should not follow only particular principles. Moreover, political leader should follow public opinion because of consolidation of public demand. Therefore, political leader should follow public opinion.