Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leaders at all levels are often faced with dilemma whether to take a decision which adheres to their moral principles or make a compromise. However, in case of political leaders this dilemma is even more magnified due to the fact that their decision would affect a quite a large number of people. Thus, at the critical juncture it becomes even more difficult whether to take the decision upholding their moral principles or by compromising on some of them.

Political leaders, are leaders who are appointed by the people directly and have a considerable amount of responsibility towards the common people. Thus, in this case what becomes of significant importance is the ability to take politically correct decisions. However, while taking these politically correct decisions there are can be situations where the leader might have to bend his moral principles for greater good. A simple example to illustrate this would be, political leaders often give subsidies, or offer land at a much lower price to big industries. This may appear morally disturbing as the political leader is involved in giving undue advantages to these big players, but they might have taken this decision so as to provide more employment opportunities to the people. Hence, in this case if the political leader would have tried to stick to the moral principles rather than on compromising them, then it may not have been politically correct.

Apart from the above, there also can be several instances, where ceeding to the public demand becomes necessary which on contrary may lead to severe political instability and there by leading to violent outbreaks in the country. Hence, in these cases, not only the image of the political leader are compromised, but also results in civil strife in the nation, which is detrimental for both people and the political leader. Therefore, in these cases, trying to adhere to moral principles would be a parlous decision. A notable example would be that of Hitler, who during second world war, always prophesied the soldiers to never retreat. However, had the soldiers retreated during the critical time of the war, Hitler might not have lost the war. Thus, it was strict adherence to the moral principles which lead to his defeat.

However, there are also situations where the political leaders might have to take a decision where moral principles become more significant. Issues concerning the well being and health of the public should never be influenced by the public opinion. Rather, these decisions should be taken with adhering with moral principles.

Thus, in order to be effective political leaders, it may be true that they should yield to the public opinion in most cases. However, regarding certain issues, the political leaders should not dissolve their moral principles.