Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

There is a continuous pressure on politicians about choosing a side in decision process. Some claim that that political leaders are seen as public figure of the society, in a way their decisions indicate how their society acts. However, I agree with opposide side that political leaders should determine and stay committed to particular principles and attitude regardless of the public demand. Furhthermore, for the sake of whole country, government should take the general opinion but should use this opinion as a consulting when questioning a policy.

Firstly, we can see examples of the cases that government conducts a referendum to learn how people think and how people want them to act in case of constitutional change or participating in a agreement or union. Besides, one should take into account that this votes will also include the decisions of politically and strategically unqualified segment of the population and accordingly, they can come up with a result which can harm government’s economic future or stability in the society. For instance, in Brexit case, they leave the decision to society and they chose to separate from European Union. It is obvious this will create vital problems for economy. This illustrates that in some cases whole society cannot be able to analyze such a political decision which is closely linked to national economy, hence, government should be aware of this fact and should not jump into taking action before questioning in terms of economic principles.

Secondly, there are also cases that government do not conduct a referendum but at the end their decision can be manipulated by public opinion. For example, in 2003, Erdogan did not choose to fight against in North Iraq in order to prevent a war. However this leaded to some political and economical obstacles throughout years. USA has become more powerful political force in that area and additionally there was a huge opportunity of benefit of petrolum source. In sum, manipulation of society due to fear of war has caused more political pressures on government and missing a possible richness in petrolum. This imply that government should not lose their objectivity in decision-making processes and should consider that people mostly focus on short run consequences rather than long run as in our case, short run fear of war has affected people’ acting so that they could not realise further implications of this decision..

In conclusion, the examples and angles given point out that government should not purely rely on public opinion since in this way they can come up with disadvantages in economical and political area as we have seen. They should rely on political and economical facts when analyzing a process and should follow a general principle as a benchmark for consistency.