Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There have been debates on whether the ubiquitous use of technology prevents people from interact with others. Some people claim that people lose a lot of chances for human interaction due to overly reliance on technology, which others contend that technology connects people with one another in new and better ways. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter more for the following reasons.

Some might argue that people's addiction on technology such as smart phone and computer dramatically reduce their opportunities to interact with human. Admittedly, people who are addicted to computer games might seldom hang out with friends or even hardly leave their own houses; the only persons they would meet in a day are probably the delivery guys for pizza. It is also true that people who highly rely on text messages might feel uncomfortable to talk to other people in person. However, these are just some extreme cases that only happen when people abuse the technology. We should not ignore that technology also brings us a great amount of ways to interact with people.

Primarily, technology allows us to easily keep in touch with friends, families or colleague despite we live far away from them. In previous generations, it takes months for a mail to be delivered. While nowadays, our text messages only take few seconds to be sent. This wonderful privilege of tech era effectively shortens the “distance” between people. My work experience in Cisco can be a good showcase to further illustrate this. Many of my teammates are working from India currently. Yet, we still cooperate well because we have online meeting once a week to keep everyone on the same page. Therefore, technology truly serve as an effective and revolutionary way to connect people.

In addition, technology provides chances for us to get connected with people from another part of the world. Take my experience of learning English as an example. In order to improve my speaking skills, I found a language exchange partner on a website one year ago. Although my partner lived in San Diego and I lived in Taiwan at that time, we managed to have regular video chat via Skype. Had the Internet not being invented, I would definitely lose a lot of chances to talk to native English speakers. Thus, technology such as social websites and Apps increase our chance to meet new and different people.

In conclusion, although I concede that, in some cases, technology is the hindrance for people to interact with one another more. Yet, as long as we take advantage of technology and use it properly, we can inarguably benefit from it.