Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

Education is crucial for providing essential knowledge to society. Although some people believe that education restrain people’s minds and spirits, I do not agree with these people. I think that education can free our minds and spirits for the following reasons.

First, education provides knowledge and experience gathered from many people, so we can have a better understanding on many situations and find solution for our life’s problems independently. For example, many novels in literature classes help us to understand the thinking of different people. We can learn many possible actions that different kinds of people act in each situation. Accordingly, we will understand why some people are always sad and some people tend to be happier. As a result, we will be able to organize our thinking to live happily and deal with different people effectively.

Second, education always encourages people to learn new things. For instance, science education including physics, chemistry, and biology teaches us to think logically and do experiments to prove our assumptions. The education does not force us to believe that the water boils at one hundred degree Celsius but it allows us to try heating water and measuring the boiling temperature ourselves. Therefore, people who learn in this field will not restrain their minds in any specific rules. If they have a question about the nature, they can set an experiment and find the proper solution themselves.

Some people may argue that education contains many rules and require people to follow those rules. This is not actually true because, when we learn rules in physics such as the law of motion, gravity force, and relativity, we also know that there are many different rules which has been developed and proposed in the past such as a rule taught by a Greece philosopher that heavy objects should fall to the ground before light objects. However, when there is new evidence that contradicts to these old rules, these rules can be changed. Consequently, education teaches us that everything can be changed and we should not only stick to taught rules.

All in all, education certainly does not restrain our minds and spirits. On the contrary, all types of education help us to think freely.