Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

The speaker males a threshold claims that many extinctions in the past were due to nature disasters, and then conclude that human should not spend money and time for safeguarding species. While I wholeheartedly agree with the threshold claim, the conclusion unfairly generalizes that we should not protect species. I strongly believe that we cannot compare this age with the past, as well as our survival depends on the nature.

To illustrate my position, let us to take a look why the author’s conclusion is wrong. It is quite normal that was not any relic of human in the billion years ago, and surly; human had not any role of extinction in that time. Likewise, eliminating some animals could not make life difficult for human. However, our survival depends on the other creatures, and extinction species can put us in the dangerous situation. I think that a small example can give some light to this topic. After industrial revolution, development medical science assists people to live longer, and increase their population. Hence, human needs more animals, which were their foods. So, modern human has more connections with the environment, and every nature disaster more effective than the past.

A further point we must consider is that human activities have a great destructive role on the nature. After extinctions on billion years ago, the nature had enough time to allow new creatures to evolve, while the scenario is different in the modern age. Nowadays, human activities have so acceleration that the nature cannot provide a suitable environment for creating new species. Recent researches show that about 90 percent of forests all over the world will be destroyed soon. In this way, if humans do not pay more attention for preserving the nature and species, sooner or later, we will be an only creature on the Earth for ever.

All above evidence supports this undeniable fact that human activities are more destruction than the nature catastrophic and the nature now is so weak that it cannot reconstruct itself. Last but not least, I hope that people gain the deeper insight that the nature is not just for theirs, and it also belongs to next generations.