Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Building a moral society is a long and arduous task. In my view, the education that has its root more closely aligned with logical reasoning than morality leads to a better society. It can be attributed to the notion that reasoning doesn't leave anything for chance or mindless manipulation, as could be the case with teaching morality.

Logical reasoning keeps at bay any level of manipulation. Pondering over an issue would lead to results that are coherent, disinterested and has better chances of being morally right since the indepth scrutiny of it, would inadvertently lead to a sound decision. On the other hand, morality alone has the problem of precipitating into a dogmas and society filled with partisan ideologies.

By incorporating logical reasoning in the education system, students would be able to build a more robust society. Since, there will be a set of lucidly delineated models on which one can base their reasoning, it becomes easier to build a morally stable society.

If students are taught morality alone, their idea of "Why it works" becomes turbid, which is highly unwanted. The curiosity of the pupil vanishes and they are engulfed in a virtually laid out dogmatic world where they have to take few guidelines as true, no matter what. This introduces a risk of the students growing on to become narrow-minded, with constricted thinking area. Their thinking would be circumscribed to only a few points and would be afraid to analyse scenarios deeply.

On the other hand, teaching morality also has its merits. Over the years, people would've evolved both mentally as well as physically. There would've been points that are conducive to build a good society that have passed over the years generation-to-generation. These may or may not be in sync with the reasoning and could be more about the emotional preferences or inclinations of the current society, but they work somehow.

We can take an example of a small village, that has its roots based on morals. The kids here are taught a set of specific things that are only relevant to their society. The information passes down through their ancestors and it has been with them for ages. The society here also a moral rule of marrying people at the age of 15.

Now take another case of a well-developed city where kids are taught to reason everything. These kids having encountered such early marriages would question "Why?"; They will have ponder over it, and have good and bad points. They might then say, it's not a good decision to marry so early since people aren't biological mature enough to sustain a physical relation or some other points.

Overall, logical reasoning can have profound impact on building a strong moral society as compared to teaching morality alone. Though, morality alone has its merits in place, logical reasoning's benefits far outweigh the former and can be extremely beneficial in creating an intelligent and morally sound society.