Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A nations achievement can not be judged by solely looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists neither by only evaluating the general welfare of all its people. As it depends on both. A success of nation gains international credibility when rulers, artists or scientist receive accolades from other countries. And spending on such activities makes sense only when people at home are happy with their life. Any nation has to wisely ration between these two factors to make sure of their growth.

To begin with, when scientists, artists or athletes gain credit at international events, respect of their nation is incremented for being capable of producing great talents. The platforms that compare several nations, when captured by any particular country, results in making the nation feel proud of itself. It helps its citizens feel patriotic, and be thankful for what there country has done for them. One such event is Olympics, there is a feeling of competition among every citizen of all participating countries, all of us stick to our televisions to get the latest count of acquired medals.

On the other hand, the general welfare of citizens is of similar importance, as no talent can be produced if resources for basic needs of day to day life are scarce. Availability of drinking water, consistent meals and education of children are the general demands of citizens from any country. Without these no nation can prove itself successful. Take for instance, North Korea, their scientists might succeed in successfully testing nuclear warheads, but the dearth of food and education for children attracts lots of negative criticism.

Moreover, the developing countries like India have done an exemplary task for gaining international respect. They are excelling in social welfare, and have gained international recognition for harnessing talent minds. The children are being provided with necessary education, jobs are being generated for the poor and most citizens get consistent meals.

Additionally, the students from India mostly graduate in subjects among STEM fields. With a highest GDP, even in times when global economy is slow, they have managed to keep their cash flowing. Now they are being seen as a competitive consumer market by multiple nations.

Conclusively, it is the property of citizens that enables one to produce talent on large scales that could compete globally. Any nation should properly ration its resources to make sure that both ends, general welfare, as well as talent recognition, are covered properly.