sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

While growing up, I remember looking up to various super stars in movies, tv shows, and magazines, but never understood why I wasn't allowed to view certain programs. I now know that it was because the characters or celebrities that starred in those shows were not good role models. In many instances, I remember watching some of my favorite childhood stars like Lindsey Lohan, fall out of stardom and find themselves in a place no one thought they would ever be.

I believe that celebrities have a societal responsibility to act as role models for the youth of our country. Although parents typically act as the main role model in a childs life, there is no shielding them from the hundreds of entertainment outlets and social media websites that can impact the development of a child and what they percieve as normal behavior. Children are very impressionable and learn at astounding rates. If what they hear and see is not properly moderated, you never know what or who is putting ideas and beliefs into a child's mind.

In addition to this, everyone has heard the saying that it takes a village to raise a child. When there is unlimited access to all corners of the world though magazines on drug store shelves, or computers in the local library, society as a whole is the village and we must work together in raising the next generation.

This argument could be refuted by saying that parents are the only people who can influence the outcome of a child. Although I believe this is an incorrect statement, I can see how many people might believe this to be true. Parents and other caregivers are around the most and therefore have the greatest impact on a child's development, morals, and view of the world.

Another argument could be that celebrities are their own person and have no obligation to look out for other people's children. We can all agree that starring in a movie and becoming famous does not have, "being a good role model" in the job description. They, just as everyone else, have free will over their decisions and life path.

Although there are two sides to this issue, it is safe to say that celebrities and the media as a whole have a strong impact on the development of the upcoming generations. Whether these super stars feel it is their responsibility to be a role model or not, they must understand the relationship between their behavior and the growth of children around the world.