The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the saying goes - You're only as strong as your weakest link, a also nation can only be termed great, if and only if the nation's poorest and weakest citizens are well taken care of. A nation's rulers, scientists and artists comprise of only a few percent of the population and no decisive claim can be made on a nations greatness based on such a small sample of people.

Any nation has a wide variety of people. Some in the urban areas and some in the rural. But most of the nations scientists, rulers and artists belong to the urban areas and are mostly part of the upper class society. But the upper class, following the bell curve trend, is only a small part of the population. The middle class and the lower class form the crux of the population in developed and developing countries. And even if the upper class is happy, it does not imply that the middle and lower classes are happy. And an unhappy nation is not a great nation.

Even if the majority of the population was happy, a country cannot be termed great unless even its minorities are happy. In Nazi Germany, most of the rulers, scientists and artists who were part of the so called 'Aryan' race were happy. The rulers (Hitler and his fellow dictators) were thriving on the unlimited power they possessed while the German scientists were well versed and technologically advanced than in most other countries. But, the Jews who were comparatively a minority were decimated ruthlessly by the majority Nazi's. Nazi Germany is definitely one of the examples of an extremely poor nation.

A claim could be made that only great nations can bring out the greatness in its rulers, scientists and artists. But this claim is completely bogus. A scientists or artists achievements are not decided by his place of birth. A good scientist needs intuition and an artist needs creativity. Both of these traits are not learnt or developed, but come by birth. Hence the achievements of scientist or artist in no way correlated to the his nation's greatness.

A nation cannot be termed great unless both the majority class and minority class is happy. All three factions of the society: Lower class, Upper class and Middle class need to be taken care of. Scientists, artists and rulers form a very small sample of the people in a rich and diverse nation, and the achievements and well being of these sections of the society cannot be termed as a good measure of the greatness of a nation.